Share | 

Tony Dill's Kopro 1/48 Su-25K

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
jugjunkie
Chief of the Air Force
Chief of the Air Force

PostSubject: Tony Dill's Kopro 1/48 Su-25K   Tue Jun 30, 2015 10:43 am

This is my first build of a kit directly from the Face Book page. Got it from Tony Dill and it was only just started. The wings had been done with the one half of the engine nacelles in place and the elevators were attached. First thing that I wanted to do was complete the wing attachment to the fuselage - completing the engine nacelle and the wing attachment. First impressions are not too good. The surface detail is very soft and disappears in places and - reminds me a lot of early Italeri kits. Fit seems to be OK'ish but I do foresee the need for some elbow grease ahead.

I started this one completely different to the usual cockpit mainly because Tony had already started with the wings. I was a bit perturbed by way everything goes together and I can see that the engine nacelles, wing, and engine internals are going to make for some fun. The engineering of this assembly is plain bloody daft. So after reading the instructions thoroughly I decided to assemble one half of the inlet onto the fuselage on both sides, and assemble the other half of the nacelle onto the wings. I opted to spray the engine intake with Alclad dark Aluminium at this stage.

I then sprayed the compressor blades in Alclad Durallium, and fitted them. Then I attached the second half of the engine and attached the wing section to the fuselage section and this worked out sort of OK....